Talisman

“Skum O’ Nite Pond”, oil on 9×12 canvas, by Rog Lyngaas, 9apr07, using choate8-graham palette.

This painting I consider my “Talisman”. At the moment of painting this I realized I have the talent to paint, and I am actually learning. It was painted a month after starting studying under Fred Choate.

The Palette here is truly my use of what is now called the choate8 palette before Fred Choate started using it in the summer of 2008.  A few of my earliest paintings used M.Graham paints where I used Hansa Yellow for the cool yellow.  Other colors here are Viridian, Ultramarine Blue, Alizarin Crimson, Cad Red, Cad Yellow, and Titanium White [all by M.Graham].  Note that M.Graham’s Cad Yellow is more like Winton’s Cad Yellow Light.  Also note: Fred changed his palette without any influence from me.  I just happen to agree with the palette change, because it makes the greens pop more.

Leave a Reply

