Cannon Beach Prophecy

“[Lorelai at] Cannon Beach, Post Quake”, 12×9 oil on canvas, by Rog Lyngaas, 6may08, using choate7 non-toxic palette.

Can a painting be a prophecy? We shall see… This one is an interpretation of both the plethora of photographs of Cannon Beach, and a painting by Fred Choate; which he did simultaneously. I feel it came off well. I am proud of the interpretation. Of course this painting is not an accurate rendition of Cannon Beach; if you photographed it from this vantage point. I am drinking some Chimay Grand Reserve tonight, hence I decided to show you all an example of my interpretive method of expression. I have done some big paintings lately. But this small one is my second favorite in the last two months. The “Path to Taos” is obviously my favorite, since I keep staring at it. In that one, I want to walk down the path. In this painting, I want to see beyond the rocks.

Leave a Reply

