Wild Euchre

“Wild Eucalyptus”, after Dan Goozee, 20×16 oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, 20may08, using choate7 non-toxic palette.

This painting is the edge of wild abstraction that my mentor hopes that I ride. In this case I may have gone over the edge, hence I call it abstract. In my opinion, this is a good thing. This painting design originates from a Dan Goozee painting. Let’s be honest, he is a great illustrator; and now he has paintings in some nice galleries.

Now, I titled the post “Wild Euchre”. Someday I would like to participate in a wild euchre game under a wild eucalyptus tree. Many people who play Euchre consider it a very formula driven card game; and thus timid. However, they have not had to play it with a group of equals, who think the same, with the same drastic creativity. This dilema, of card play, is caused by my siblings. So whenever my family plays cards, whether it is the timid Euchre, the communicative bridge, statistical cribbage, cutthroat hollywood gin rummy, or even Sheepshead; it becomes wild. Quite entertaining, even if you are just listening to the rendition of the table; while sipping absinthe in the warm Ibiza wind. Chillin’ out and loving it!

Ever wonder why some earth based pigments are spelled “Ochre” whether they be red or yellow? Linguistically I wonder what the possible connection is between Ochre and Euchre?

Leave a Reply

