Red Zinc

“Mt Moran I Reverse”, 8×10 oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, 2jul07, using choate7 non-toxic palette.

This rendition is an example of not leaving the Red out of a painting. Fred has been teaching me that painters need to teach themselves how much red to put into a painting. Truly for myself that is what I deal with in some paintings, especially outdoors. Of the colors, the reds have the longest wavelength in the visual spectrum. Most people who are color blind have problems with red. In fact, one of the top plein air painters in Idaho, is color blind. I am lucky, I see red fine. I have had to learn that there is a lot of red in rocks and earth.

Most people squint a lot when they are outdoors. I wonder if the squinting causes a decrement in seeing red outdoors. Maybe this dilema is a good thing; since we do not want be angry all the time.

Leave a Reply

