Angular Reflection, Multiple Yin-Yang

small-falls-in-a-large-canyon-s

“Small Falls in a Large Canyon”, 11×14 oil on canvas, by Rog Lyngaas, 19feb08, using choate7 palette.

I must be honest. I really enjoyed painting this piece. It reminds me of the steep canyon bottom of the Grand Canyon that I packed in with my mom and nephew when she was 67. She was a good hiker. I had to think more than normal about the reflections going back and forth across the canyon wall. Of course, at the bottom ground I had to insist on a more luminous green. It is my belief that luminous moss green can only exist in the shade. It is the really cool fungus and moss that exists in the deep of the forest, or in this case the canyon. My grocery store re-grand opening day just completed. So now I will have some time to actually paint. May I paint for you?

Leave a Reply

