Beauty a Curse

“Placid River, Flowing Lake”, 14×11 oil on canvas, by Rog Lyngaas, 11sep07, using choate7 non-toxic palette.

At the moment I painted this I internally felt this is the best painting I had painted. I liked how I executed the earth tones, and the tree modeling. Beauty can be a curse, though. I placed this painting in my new painting holder to transport it. Walked to my truck and placed the holder with the painting in front of my truck. Put my stuff away, then proceeded to start my truck and drive away. I heard a metallic sound near my transmission, and said “oh Oh”. Maybe I just dropped my transmission or something. So my truck only travelled like 8 feet or so. I got out to look under my truck, and said “oh shit!”. I had just driven over my painting with its metal holder. I recovered the painting and inspected. The damage was minor so when I got home I sort of un-mushed the trees, and removed the dirt. I was relieved.

So much so I bought a silver frame for it two months later. As I was mounting I realized this canvas was stretched using mini-bars. Because I did not realize at the time that there is such a thing as mini-bar clips for quick; I thought I would jury rig the stretcher bars. Needless to say, one thing led to another, and now the painting has an L shaped hole in it.

Will Nelson would say, “Doesn’t matter, I will paint it again, only better.”. Maybe he is right; but I needed to tell you the story so that I could be embarrassed completely. Enjoy this spiritually holey painting!

Leave a Reply

