Washington Monument Wading Pool…

“Shakespeare Log Pond”, 10×8 PA oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, 5jul08, using Choate7-Graham palette.

Julie Iffla, Craig Arrowood, and I went out plein air painting on the 5th of July. As students of Fred Choate we visited one of his favorite motifs in Boise; the Shakespeare Festival Grounds along the Boise River. The shape of this logging pool reminds me of the wading pool for the Washington Monument. I decided that I did not want to paint it in that day, but I was tempted. If I had used a bigger canvas, maybe. But who wants a big spike in the middle of a landscape painting, for no apparent reason. You may suggest, well you can paint it in later. Maybe forget you do, I am an alla prima painter, so when I paint plein air it is 100% unretouched plein air. That means I-am/you-are stuck with the results.

Leave a Reply

