Stillness of the Moonrise.

before-moonrise-in-a-sawtooth-valley

“Before Moonrise in a Sawtooth Valley”, 18×24 oil on canvasboard, study, by Rog Lyngaas, 5jan09, using choate7 palette with Phalo Green/Raw Umber for warm blue.

Although the cheap cell phone picture does not really show it, this is one of the darkest paintings I have ever painted.  It is very reminiscent of the night scene just before the moon rises.  At that time the earth may be at its stillest.  If you have ever watched the moon rise [in the middle of the night] you know the stillness is overwhelmingly peaceful.  Perhaps if more of us witnessed the moon rising, we would have more resolve for world peace.

In the art world one of those who affected me as a child was Andrew Wyeth.  My mother took me to Chicago once to an art museum in the late 60’s or early 70’s.  She made me walk with her through the entire museum so we could see every Andrew Wyeth and/or NC Wyeth painting in the show.  It was like 350 paintings and it took most of the day.  I was not happy, but she told me I would appreciate this at a later time.  I admit I do now appreciate it.  When people talk about the quality of composition that the Wyeth family executed, I agree it is very good.

Bill Sharp on Andrew Wyeth

Claudia Hajian on Andrew Wyeth

For more blogger comments on Andrew Wyeth’s passing please go to the links above.

Leave a Reply

