Moonlight on a Kansas River

smoky-river-after-sandzen1

“Smoky River (aft Birger Sandzen)”, 8×10 oil alkyd on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, 30jan09, using choate8-griffin palette.

This is a study of Sven Birger Sandzen’s “Smoky River” painting.  The river depicted here is probably the Smoky Hill River.  It flows near Lindsborg, Kansas; where Sandzen lived and taught.  My rendition was painted before the “Another Day Coming” painting.  The pair were the first two paintings after my closest Uncle died.  They are both considered night paintings.

I wonder if you could help me with the exact Longitude and Latitude coordinates for this scene it would be much appreciated.  Why!?  Because I am one of the few painters painting for “PaintMap.com”.  My paintmap website is…

Rog’s Paint Map Site

Currently I identify this painting on the Smoky Hill River near Lindsborg. But, I don’t really know where on the river this scene is. Nor do I know for sure it is of that river. I would like to change the coordinates on the paintmap if I am wrong. Perhaps art students at Bethany College in Lindsborg could tell me the correct coordinates.

One Response to “Moonlight on a Kansas River”

  1. Kory Hauser Says:

    I grew up in Kansas and may be able to help you. The painting depicts a shallow waterfall. Since Kansas is so flat and sandy; it’s more likely a man made spillway rather than a naturally occurring waterfall. If so, the only place along the Smokey Hill were this would be is just up stream (west) of the bridge on 1st street in Lindsborg. According to the NOAA the lat and Lon of that bridge are: Latitude: 38.566000° N, Longitude: 97.673000° W

    You can find a picture here:

    Hope this helps.

    Kory

Leave a Reply

