Rocky Mountain National Park

timberline-lake-after-sandzen1

“Timberline Lake (aft Birger Sandzen)”, 20×16 oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, using Choate8-GamblinX palette & Galkyd Gel, 7feb09.

This is another study of a Sandzen.  It is set in Rocky Mountain National Park.  I chose this setting to commemorate the passing of my Uncle Harm.  He loved Rocky Mountain National Park and he took me their once.

Once again I do not know where exactly Sven Birger Sandzen painted this in the park.  So if you know the locale in the park, please give me updated coordinates.  Thank-you.

By the way, this was painted in my brother’s furnace room with one incandescent light bulb unfiltered, for light.

This is the first time I have used Gamblin brand paints.  I tryed to make the correct Choate8 palette with them but it turns out Gamblin “Cadmium Yellow Medium” should be used for warm yellow, instead of “Cadmium Yellow Light”.  The Gamblin paints have similiar hues to the M.Graham.  Even the Ultramarines somewhat match.  Note the “French Ultramarine Blue” was not used, but probably matches the Winton brand French Ultramarine Blue hue in the Choate8 palette better.  The Ultramarine blue tube I used was a more a green shaded hue and lighter.

Choate8-GamblinX Palette

choate8-gamblinx-palette

One Response to “Rocky Mountain National Park”

  1. Hi Painter,
    My names Willie,am also a painter but abstract.I enjoyed your work on landscapes and felt maybe we can exchange ideas.
    Please feel free to visit my blog.Thanks

Leave a Reply

