Thank-you…

London, Kansas City, San Francisco, Boise, New York City… to you I thank.  For it is you guys that stop by my blog the most.  I am getting back to painting after a brief recess.  My first piece is a post study of a study.  My post study type paintings tend to be simpler and not as good quality.  I do not know why that is, and for now, that is just the way it is.

choates-snag-post-study2

“Choate’s Snag (post study)”, after Choate, 8×6 oil on canvaboard, by Rog Lyngaas, 18feb09, using Choate8-Gamblin palette — except warm yellow is Winton brand Cad Yellow Medium.

This is the first 8×6 oil I have done, hence the use of the post study method.  I have been nervous about trying to paint small since I typically use one inch wide Fitch brushes for my half of my painting time.  I have even used such a large brush for some of my 8×10’s.  But I am convinced painting 8×6’s will help me to practice decision making with my brushes.  So here is the first, and hopefully not the last.

Leave a Reply

