Dream of Hawai’i

“Dream of Owyhee”, 8×10 oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas,4aug09, XF palette.

dream of owyhee

There are locations of Oasis’ in the Owyhee [Pai’ute for Hawai’i] Desert.  I dream of finding them on my motorcycle.  Owyhee is a unique locale in Idaho, and yes it is named after Hawai’i.

XF Pallete
Cool blue = french Ultramarine Blue (grumbacher pre-tested)
Warm blue = pthalo green (graham)
Cool yellow = cad lemon (winton)
Warm yellow = cad yellow medium (grumbacher pre-tested)
Warm red = cad red medium (winton)
Cool red = quinacridone violet (graham)
sketch & tone = ivory black (winton) + yellow ochre (winton)
White = titanium white (shiva)

This is the first painting I have ever done without using a Turpinoid or a Turpintine for cleaning my brushes.  I am using, Walnut oil for now.  I probably will return to turpinoid, just because it truly is toxic; and I need some toxicity in my work to be a true antithesis [devil’s advocate].

Leave a Reply

