Thank-you for your Patience…

Idaho Rising

“Idaho Rising”, 11×14 oil on canvas board, by Rog Lyngaas, 18aug09, triple-primary palette.

Thank-you all for getting “frosted” over the lack of posts the last month.  I would like to start this discussion by saying “Rog Has Risen!”  OK, so now you know why the above painting is called “Idaho Rising”.

At crack of dawn there is light that hits tops of mountains.  On ranches in vales below lives Sentinals of security.  From the Rooster call, lights turn on, and well baled hay smiles as it may finally be used for fodder for horses.  The horses need this nourishment for they have waited patiently for the next days work to come .  While the horses feed the mud of the day becomes cream-ated upon the lips of the cowboys.  Contemplation occurs, as the thought of “Good Day” arises in hearts of all.  We all are the enlightened ones, those who arise at dawn.  Who was first, the light upon the Mount, or the call from the Sentinal?

I would like to send a thank-you to the following cities… Belgrade [Beograd … i.e. “White City” in Celtic], London, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, Seattle, Los Angeles, Denver, Kansas City, Dallas, Toronto, and Philadelphia, Washington DC, and Newark.  The fact that people from Belgrade are visiting my site gives me a good feeling. I feel because of politics Belgrade has become the most remote big city in the world.  I appreciate your support, no matter where it is from.

All shows I have been involved with have just ended three weeks ago.  I just picked up my paintings from the Idaho State Fair [I received 2 honorable mentions in the professional categories of “Landscape” and “Idaho Landscape”.  I did not enter into the Contemporary-Abstract category this year, because I have not been focused on abstract stuff much lately.  Now that I will be getting away from other artist’s painting studies, I will probably loosen up over the next few months, so that I can prepare for what I plan to do next year.

The Meridian City Hall show was torn down on Friday the 28th of August.  It was a success, although we as a group did not sell a thing [low traffic].  I feel proud to be associated with the 8 other painters I showed with.  The fact that I got to organize a show that included the artist that won “Best Oil Painting” at the fair [Fred Choate… 3rd year in a row], and the artist that won “Best Watercolor Painting” at the fair [Laurie Asahara… she won best overall last year]… I can only smile in pride.

The Buhl Art Center at 8th Street Center in Buhl, Idaho tore down its “Plein Air Paintout” show at the end of August as well.  I guess I better make a road trip to pick those paintings up.

Am I depressed or releaved?

Leave a Reply

