Big Brush, solid communication…

As a painter, I have found if you want people to listen to you, you need to carry a big brush.  The painting below was done entirely with a 1 inch sized fitch brush.  People who know me, I prefer to do my “block in” using this brush, even on small paintings like the one below.  It adds to the Sumi-E style I like to use in my underpainting.  In this case, the block-in was so good, my mentor told me to stop, and go to the next painting.  This was the first of the three paintings I did in 2 hours, on that fateful day in 2007.  Both this and the “Yosemite, Keys in Pond” painting were shown in the 2007 Idaho state fair.  Enjoy…

“Yellow Flowers”, 11×14 oil on canvas, by Rog Lyngaas, 31jul07, Choate7 palette.

Leave a Reply

